Costello weighs in

I saw Elvis Costello play for free in Golden Gate Park yesterday (and Emmylou Harris joined him on a few songs). He had this to say about politics here in the U.S.: “As a great poet once said, you don’t need a weatherman to know which way Sarah Palin blows.”

2 responses to “Costello weighs in

  1. Don’t know what that means in detail, but it sounds good in general. By “weatherman” I assume he is referring to Professor Ayers…

  2. I didn’t think it was even that sophisticated. I just figured he meant, “you don’t need to be an expert to know that Sarah Palin blows,” i.e. stinks. If he was actually making an Ayers references, then he was being more clever than I gave him credit for.

    I think I actually might have heard him use the same line about some other politician at a concert a decade or more ago, so maybe it’s an old standard that he pulls out every four years.

Leave a Reply

