The other hilly city by the bay

San Francisco is obviously known for its dramatic hills, but some people don’t realize that Oakland has its share of steep hills too. I discovered this public staircase when I was out walking the dog today. Unfortunately, the picture didn’t come out as well as I hoped (the staircase seemed more impressive in person). I didn’t count, but there must be about 50 steep stairs without even a small landing anywhere in the middle.

Staircase

This staircase is actually the continuation of another staircase on the opposite side of the street, and I thought it might continue again after the next street up, but the top shown here was pretty much the top of the hill. There are some other cool staircases a bit closer my apartment — I’ll see if I can take some pictures of the other ones soon.

3 responses to “The other hilly city by the bay

  1. There be the there!

  2. I remember, I remember

    Reminds me of all the staircases on corey hill…

  3. Pingback: Stairs and more stairs « This Be The Blog

Leave a Reply

